July 22, 2017 Q&A with Featured Hockey Players in Business Member: Mike Lee

Mike Lee

Owner/President, GRS Recruiting

Where did you grow up?

Detroit, Michigan, then the Akron/Canton area

What is your hockey history?

  • Travel hockey in a Detroit league when I was 12
  • AAA Midget League out of Buffalo during high school
  • Two ACHA National Championship teams at Ohio University
  • ECHL minor leagues after college (briefly) before they thankfully told me to go get a real job. (Otherwise, I’d probably still be bouncing from city to city and working a summer job!)
  • Men’s League

What business are you in now?

GRS Recruiting is a niche recruiting firm. We place sales and sales management professionals in a few specialized industries, such as fluid power, fluid handling and process control. I have owned and run the business for 12 years. My role has evolved over the years from a player to a coach. It is a constant challenge to accelerate growth of the business and maintain a culture of high performance. There are definitely wins and losses, just like in hockey.

How has hockey helped you achieve success?

I was a goaltender during my playing years, and it taught me to be personally accountable at a young age. I always felt like it was my responsibility to win games for my team. So, even if we lost 1-0, I felt like it was my fault. I carried this attitude into business. My performance and how I impact results is truly the only thing that I can control, so that is where my focus must stay.

In addition, hockey gave me the ability to understand how teams can perform at a high level through supporting and pushing each other. I definitely look at my business team like a hockey team. I consider who needs to play what role, who is hot, who is cold, who needs a kick and who can help lead. I also often think about what the better coaches that I played for would do in various situations that arise.

Can you share a few fun facts about yourself?

I played Men’s League hockey until I turned 30. As a goaltender, the lack of back checking and 15-14 final scores was too hard on my ego. Plus, I was no longer very good by then. So, I switched my focus to tennis and have been playing that for the last 14 years. I have been married to Alison for 18 years, and we live with our daughters, aged 10 to 15, in Geauga County.

How can other HPIB members contact you or learn more about your business?

Email: mlee@grsrecruiting.com
Website: http://www.grsrecruiting.com